Next Release


We nabbed the Irish muso after a a staggering 12" on Bearfunk Records as Lasertom and the Blast Crew...

Back in 2011 Dublin's Lasertom released a staggering 12" on Bearfunk Records as Lasertom and the Blast Crew. Fast forward to 2013 and we nabbed the Irish muso for a highly anticipated release with us here at Nang. Now, a few months on, he's back with an album groove-laden proportions titled 'Drift'. Lasertom makes laid-back, slo-mo disco with real instruments (bass, guitar, brass) in a style which just oozes quality.
The album draws influences from his musical youth right to the present, citing the down tempo output of Cinematic Orchestra and Kruder & Dorfmeister to underground '80s heroes Patrick Cowley and Arthur Russell, right up to a eclectic mix of contemporaries including Clown & Sunset, Gatto Fritto and Todd Terje.
We kick off the record with the title track, a mystifying groover with slinky drums, a bold piano riff and teasing electronics and guitars. A real restrained masterpiece. 'Innerspaceman' is an exercise in Cosmic downtempo brilliance, complete with ethereal vocal harmonies and mad synth runs.
'All The Time' comes in all cosmic motorik. Its machine rhythms and spaced out vocal details float amongst the synth detritus. 'Surprise' is more of a contemplative affair, melodic affair. 'Maelstrom' comes in slow but soon a pacey arp coming in to prelude a stomping, weirdo-disco synth track. Great stuff.
'No Play' has a real swing to it, hinting on the New Jack era, albeit slower and more fantastical with swathes of vocals and pads. 'Note To Self' is a beat-less self-referential piece, rich with smooth pad tones and fluttering effects. It's a wonderful interlude before last single 'Call' kick's off with soaring synth tones that meld into a dusty, clap-heavy disco beat before a neon bass line enter's the fray and flips the track up on it's head.
To finish we have 'Norwegian Pine', a hyper-slo-mo, hyper-melodic, slovenly disco beat. A real treat.

Written & Produced by Simon Cullen
Published by Dharma Songs
(P) & (C) 2013 Nang Records

1. Drift Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. Innerspaceman Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. All The Time Buy Track ( 0.94)
4. Surprise Buy Track ( 0.94)
5. Maelstrom Buy Track ( 0.94)
6. No Play Buy Track ( 0.94)
7. Note To Self Buy Track ( 0.94)
8. Call Buy Track ( 0.94)
9. Norwegian Pine Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 6.60)

Physical LP Sold Out ( Request )